Mercy Education Limited

Mercy Education Limited (Mercy Education) is an incorporated ministry of the Sisters of Mercy of Australia and Papua New Guinea (ISMAPNG), charged with operating all educational ministries for which the Institute has sole sponsorship. Mercy Education is one of the many works operated by the Institute throughout Australia and Papua New Guinea. 

Mercy Education will operate at all times as part of the mission of the Catholic Church in conformity with canon law and in strict conformity with the ethical framework of the Institute as determined by the Institute Leader and Council from time to time. 

ISMAPNG is involved with twelve fully sponsored schools - eight in Victoria, three in Western Australia and one in South Australia. The governance role of the Board of Mercy Education is confined to the twelve ISMAPNG sponsored schools and sets policies, approves each school’s strategic plan, appoints Principals, approves senior leadership positions and fulfils due diligence in the area of finance and audit management, capital development, risk management and litigation.

  • Academy of Mary Immaculate, Fitzroy, VIC

  • Catholic College Bendigo, Bendigo, VIC

  • Sacred Heart College, Geelong, VIC

  • St Aloysius  College, North Melbourne, VIC

  • Sacred Heart College, Kyneton, VIC

  • Mount Lilydale Mercy College, Lilydale, VIC

  • St Joseph’s College, Mildura, VIC

  • St Aloysius College, Adelaide, SA

  • St Brigid’s College, Lesmurdie, WA

  • Mercedes College, Perth, WA

  • Santa Maria College, Attadale, WA

    Note that Mercy Education also co-sponsors one Catholic College in Victoria:

  • Emmanuel College, Warrnambool, VIC


College Council

Mercy Education is the Employer of the Principal and staff of the Mercy colleges. The existence of Mercy Education gives strength, support and solidarity to each of the member Mercy schools and its community.

  2017 College Council Membership
  Name   Position
  Mr Christopher Conroy   Chair and Past Parent
  Sr Eileen Ann Daffy rsm     Sister of Mercy
  Mr Stephen Dole   Past Parent
  Ms Annmarie Farrell   Past Parent
  Mrs Deborah Houston   Current Parent
  Mr Paul McEvey   Current Parent
  Ms Julie Ryan
  Mr Nicolas Sulzberger   Business Manager
  Ms Candice Wilson   PA to Principal & Minute Secretary 

Constitution for College Advisory Council


Return to top